Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: jrc-f3-enquiries@ec.europa.eu

Title: HTS DB of Nanomaterials on HepaRGs

Description

The large amount of existing nanomaterials demands for rapid and reliable ways to test their potential toxicological effect on human health, preferably by means of relevant in vitro tests in order to reduce testing on animals. Combining high throughput workflows with automated high content imaging techniques allows to derive much more information from cell-based assays than with the typical readouts (i.e. one measurement per well) with optical plate-readers. We present here a dataset including up to 14 different read outs including viable cell count, cell membrane permeability, apoptotic cell death, mitochondrial membrane potential and steatosis of the human hepatoma HepaRG cell line treated with a large set of nanomaterials, coatings and supernatants at different concentrations. The database, given its size, can be utilized for the development of in silico hazard assessment and prediction tools or can be combined with toxicity effect on other in vitro test systems.

Contributors
Elisabeth Joossens elisabeth.joossens@ec.europa.eu 0000-0001-8091-4192
Peter Macko peter.macko@ec.europa.eu
Taina Palosaari taina.palosaari@ec.europa.eu
Kirsten Britta Gerloff
Isaac Ojea-jiménez
Douglas Gilliland douglas.gilliland@ec.europa.eu
Salvador Fortaner Torrent salvador.fortaner@ec.europa.eu
Jean-Michel Gineste jean-michel.gineste@ec.europa.eu
Isabella Römer
Sophie Marie Briffa s.m.briffa@bham.ac.uk
Eugenia Valsami-Jones 0000-0002-8850-7556
Iseult Lynch 0000-0003-4250-4584
Maurice Whelan maurice.whelan@ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Joossens, Elisabeth; Macko, Peter; Palosaari, Taina; Gerloff, Kirsten Britta; Ojea-jiménez, Isaac; Gilliland, Douglas; Fortaner Torrent, Salvador; Gineste, Jean-Michel; Römer, Isabella; Briffa, Sophie Marie; Valsami-Jones, Eugenia; Lynch, Iseult; Whelan, Maurice (2018):  HTS DB of Nanomaterials on HepaRGs. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] doi:10.2905/jrc-10088-10009 PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-10088-10009
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

Publications

  • publication A high throughput imaging database of toxicological effects of nanomaterials tested on HepaRG cells

    Joossens, E., Macko, P., Palosaari, T., Gerloff, K., Ojea Jimenez, I., Gilliland, D., Novak, J., Fortaner Torrent, S., Gineste, J., Romer, I., Briffa, S., Valsami-Jones, E., Lynch, I. and Whelan, M., A high throughput imaging database of toxicological effects of nanomaterials tested on HepaRG cells, SCIENTIFIC DATA, ISSN 2052-4463 (online), 6 (46), 2019, p. 1-10, JRC114500.

    DOI:10.1038/s41597-019-0053-2

Other resources

  • Background Information ZIP

    The Zip file contains the following elements: (1) investigation.xlsx, a file with metadata of the experiments, assay specific information, the experimental plate layouts and NM characterisation; (2) methods containing the data acquisition codes and the dispertion protocols; (3) RawData.zip and (4) TransformedData.zip, two zip archives with the original and processed data.

Additional information
Last modified 2019-03-13
Issue date 2018-03-16
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/en/research-topic/alternatives-animal-testing-and-safety-assessment-chemicals
Geographic area World
Temporal coverage

From: 2014-02-13 – To: 2016-06-27

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-10088-10009
Digital Object Identifier doi:10.2905/jrc-10088-10009

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.