Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: jrc-ghsl-data@ec.europa.eu

Title: GHS Urban Centre Database 2015, multitemporal and multidimensional attributes, R2019A

Description

The Global Human Settlement Layer (GHSL) produces new global spatial information, evidence-based analytics, and knowledge describing the human presence in the planet. The Joint Research Centre (JRC) and the Directorate General for Regional Development (DG REGIO) of the European Commission support the GHSL activities. The GHSL contributes to the international partnership “GEO Human Planet Initiative”. The GHSL methods rely on automatic spatial data mining technologies allowing the extraction of analytics and knowledge from large amount of heterogeneous data including global, fine-scale satellite-image data streams, census data, and crowd sources or volunteering geographic information sources. Spatial data reporting objectively and systematically about the presence of population and built-up infrastructures are necessary for any evidence-based modelling or assessing of i) human and physical exposure to threats as environmental contamination and degradation, natural disasters and ...

Contributors
Aneta Florczyk aneta.florczyk@ec.europa.eu 0000-0001-8912-1500
Christina Corbane christina.corban@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-2670-1302
Marcello Schiavina marcello.schiavina@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-3399-3400
Martino Pesaresi martino.pesaresi@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-0620-439X
Luca Maffenini luca.maffenini@ext.ec.europa.eu
Michele Melchiorri michele.melchiorri@ext.ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-3009-8868
Panagiotis Politis panagiotis.politis@ext.ec.europa.eu
Filip Sabo filip.sabo@ext.ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-0669-3939
Sergio Freire sergio.freire@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-2282-701X
Daniele Ehrlich daniele.ehrlich@ec.europa.eu
Thomas Kemper thomas.kemper@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-3446-8301
Pierpaolo Tommasi pierpaolo.tommasi@ext.ec.europa.eu
Donato Airaghi donato.airaghi@ext.ec.europa.eu
Luigi Zanchetta luigi.zanchetta@ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Florczyk, Aneta; Corbane, Christina; Schiavina, Marcello; Pesaresi, Martino; Maffenini, Luca; Melchiorri, Michele; Politis, Panagiotis; Sabo, Filip; Freire, Sergio; Ehrlich, Daniele; Kemper, Thomas; Tommasi, Pierpaolo; Airaghi, Donato; Zanchetta, Luigi (2019):  GHS Urban Centre Database 2015, multitemporal and multidimensional attributes, R2019A. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/53473144-b88c-44bc-b4a3-4583ed1f547e
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

  • GHS_STAT_UCDB2015MT_GLOBE_R2019A ZIP

    The data is distributed as one ZIP file, which is composed of several files, i.e., XLS, CSV and SHP. The XLS file contains short documentation and the attributes. The CVS files contains the attributes. The shapefile contains the polygons of Urban Centres 2015 (vectorised from 1x1 km grid in World Mollweide projection), and selected attributes.

Publications

  • publication Atlas of the Human Planet 2018

    Carneiro Freire, S., Corban, C., Ehrlich, D., Florczyk, A., Kemper, T., Melchiorri, M., Pesaresi, M. and Schiavina, M., Atlas of the Human Planet 2018, EUR 29497 EN, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2018, ISBN 978-92-79-98185-2 (online), doi:10.2760/124503 (online), JRC114316.

    DOI:10.2760/124503

  • publication Description of the GHS Urban Centre Database 2015

    Florczyk, A., Melchiorri, M., Corban, C., Schiavina, M., Maffenini, L., Pesaresi, M., Politis, P., Sabo, F., Carneiro Freire, S., Ehrlich, D., Kemper, T., Tommasi, P., Airaghi, D. and Zanchetta, L., Description of the GHS Urban Centre Database 2015, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2019, ISBN 978-92-79-99753-2 (online), doi:10.2760/037310 (online), JRC115586.

    DOI:10.2760/037310

Other resources

Additional information
Issue date 2019-01-28
Landing page https://ghsl.jrc.ec.europa.eu/
Geographic area World
Temporal coverage

From: 1975-01-01 – To: 2018-12-30

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Regions and cities; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 72 GEOGRAPHY
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/53473144-b88c-44bc-b4a3-4583ed1f547e

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.