Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre

Title: Baseline GECO 11/2018

Description

The economic Multi-Regional Input-Output tables used in the Global Energy and Climate Outlook (GECO) 2018 for the baseline scenario are presented. The Baseline scenario represents a projection of the world economy with corresponding energy demand and GHG's emissions under the assumption that the energy and climate objectives of the NDCs are achieved. The procedure that was used to generate Baseline scenario is called PIRAMID which stands for: Platform to Integrate, Reconcile and Align Model-based Input-output Data. PIRAMID is a new methodology to project Multi-Regional Input-Output tables over time. This approach allows for integrating data from external models and databases. The I-O tables are supplemented by energy balances (in physical units) and GHGs projections. For further information the readers are referred to the following publication: Rey Los Santos, L., Wojtowicz, K., Tamba, M., Vandyck, T., Weitzel, M., Saveyn, B., Temursho U. Global macroeconomic balances for mid-century ...

Contributors
Luis Rey luis.rey-los-santos@ec.europa.eu
Krzysztof Wojtowicz krzysztof.wojtowicz@ec.europa.eu
Bert Saveyn bert.saveyn@ec.europa.eu
Matthias Weitzel matthias.weitzel@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-3764-3731
Toon Vandyck toon.vandyck@ec.europa.eu 0000-0001-5927-0310
Marie Tamba marie.tamba@ec.europa.eu
Umed Temursho utemurshoev@uloyola.es 0000-0002-1922-1343
How to cite
Rey, Luis; Wojtowicz, Krzysztof; Saveyn, Bert; Weitzel, Matthias; Vandyck, Toon; Tamba, Marie; Temursho, Umed (2019):  Baseline GECO 11/2018. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/3ffc59a1-edff-491f-8894-3147d2202e42
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

  • Baseline GECO 11/2018 Excel XLS

    The economic Multi-Regional Input-Output tables used in the Global Energy and Climate Outlook (GECO) 2018 for the baseline scenario are presented. The Baseline scenario represents a projection of the world economy with corresponding energy demand and GHG's emissions under the assumption that the energy and climate objectives of the NDCs are achieved. The procedure that was used to generate...

Publications

  • publication Global macroeconomic balances for mid-century climate analyses

    Rey Los Santos, L., Wojtowicz, K., Tamba, M., Vandyck, T., Weitzel, M., Saveyn, B. and Temursho, U., Global macroeconomic balances for mid-century climate analyses, EUR 29490 EN, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2018, ISBN 978-92-79-98168-5 (online), doi:10.2760/858469 (online), JRC113981.

    DOI:10.2760/858469

Additional information
Issue date 2019-01-14
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/
Geographic area World
Temporal coverage

From: 2025-01-01 – To: 2050-01-01

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Economy and finance; Energy; Science and technology
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/3ffc59a1-edff-491f-8894-3147d2202e42

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.