Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre

Title: Global Extreme Sea Level projections

Description

In this study we present probabilistic projections of Extreme Sea Levels (ESL) until the end of the 21st century along the global coastline, by considering the contribution of mean sea level, tides, waves and storm surges. Between the year 2000 and 2100 we project a very likely (90% probability) increase of the global average 100-year ESL of 34-76 cm under a moderate-emission-mitigation-policy scenario, and of 58-172 cm under a business as usual scenario. Intensification of the frequency of the design conditions is projected under both of the RCP scenarios for most of the shorelines, implying for timely actions towards coastal adaptation.

Contributors
Michail Vousdoukas michail.vousdoukas@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-2655-6181
Lorenzo Mentaschi lorenzo.mentaschi@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-2967-9593
Evangelos Voukouvalas evangelos.voukouvalas@ext.ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-8812-2613
Martin Verlaan martin.verlaan@deltares.nl 0000-0001-7181-3955
Svetlana Jevrejeva sveta@noc.ac.uk
Luke Jackson luke.jackson@economics.ox.ac.uk 0000-0001-6834-8255
Luc Feyen luc.feyen@ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Vousdoukas, Michail; Mentaschi, Lorenzo; Voukouvalas, Evangelos; Verlaan, Martin; Jevrejeva, Svetlana; Jackson, Luke; Feyen, Luc (2018):  Global Extreme Sea Level projections. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] doi:10.2905/jrc-liscoast-10012 PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-liscoast-10012
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

  • Total Water Level components - Present day NetCDF

    100-year event Total Water Level along the global coastline for the period 1980 - 2014, including the 5th, 50th and 95th quantiles. Similar data are included also for the contributing components: mean sea level, tides and extreme weather events (wave setup+storm surge).

  • Total Water Level components - RCP45 NetCDF

    100-year event Total Water Level along the global coastline for the period 2015 - 2099 under the RCP45 emissions scenario, including the 5th, 50th and 95th quantiles. Similar data are included also for the contributing components: mean sea level, tides and extreme weather events (wave setup+storm surge).

  • Total Water Level components - RCP85 NetCDF

    100-year event Total Water Level along the global coastline for the period 2015 - 2099 under the RCP85 emissions scenario, including the 5th, 50th and 95th quantiles. Similar data are included also for the contributing components: mean sea level, tides and extreme weather events (wave setup+storm surge).

Additional information
Last modified 2018-04-18
Issue date 2018-04-18
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/
Temporal coverage

From: 1980-01-01 – To: 2099-12-31

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Environment; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 52 ENVIRONMENT
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-liscoast-10012
Digital Object Identifier doi:10.2905/jrc-liscoast-10012

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.