Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre

Title: European Coastal Flood Risk

Description

In this study we present the results of the coastal flood risk assessment for Europe until the end of the 21st century, by incorporating the impacts of global warming and the different socio-economic development scenarios. The effect of climate change at the extreme total sea level is the main trigger of the increasing coastal inundation and the related losses at the coastal zone. In the absence of further investments on coastal flood protection, the present Expected Annual Damage (EAD) is projected to increase by 2 to 3 orders of magnitude by the end of the century, while the current Expected Annual Number of People Exposed to coastal flooding (EAPE) is projected to reach up to 3.65 million people by that time.

Contributors
Michail Vousdoukas michail.vousdoukas@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-2655-6181
Lorenzo Mentaschi lorenzo.mentaschi@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-2967-9593
Evangelos Voukouvalas evangelos.voukouvalas@ext.ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-8812-2613
Alessandra Bianchi alessandra.bianchi@ext.ec.europa.eu
Francesco Dottori francesco.dottori@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-1388-3303
Luc Feyen luc.feyen@ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Vousdoukas, Michail; Mentaschi, Lorenzo; Voukouvalas, Evangelos; Bianchi, Alessandra; Dottori, Francesco; Feyen, Luc (2018):  European Coastal Flood Risk. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] doi:10.2905/jrc-liscoast-10009 PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-liscoast-10009
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

  • Expected Annual Damage CSV

    Ensemble median Expected Annual Damage (expressed in billion €) from coastal flooding for Europe and per country for the baseline (2000) and for 2050 and 2100 under RCP4.5-SSP1 (Sustainability), RCP8.5-SSP3 (Fragmented world), and RCP8.5-SSP5 (Fossil fuel based development).

  • Expected Annual Damage per GDP CSV

    Ensemble median Expected Annual Damage (expressed as a share of GDP) from coastal flooding for Europe and per country for the baseline (2000) and for 2050 and 2100 under RCP4.5-SSP1 (Sustainability), RCP8.5-SSP3 (Fragmented world), and RCP8.5-SSP5 (Fossil fuel based development).

  • Expected Annual People Affected CSV

    Ensemble median Expected Annual Population Exposed (expressed in thousand people) from coastal flooding for Europe and per country for the baseline (2000) and for 2050 and 2100 under RCP4.5-SSP1 (Sustainability), RCP8.5-SSP3 (Fragmented world), and RCP8.5-SSP5 (Fossil fuel based development).

Additional information
Last modified 2018-04-04
Issue date 2018-04-04
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/
Geographic area Europe
Temporal coverage

From: 1980-12-31 – To: 2099-12-31

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Environment; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 52 ENVIRONMENT
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-liscoast-10009
Digital Object Identifier doi:10.2905/jrc-liscoast-10009

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.