Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: francesco.dottori@ec.europa.eu

Title: Flood hazard map for Europe, 20-year return period

Description

The map depicts flood prone areas in Europe for flood events with 20-year return period. Cell values indicate water depth (in m). The map can be used to assess flood exposure and risk of population and assets. NOTE: this dataset is based on JRC elaborations and is not an official flood hazard map (for details and limitations please refer to related publications).

Contributors
Francesco Dottori francesco.dottori@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-1388-3303
Lorenzo Alfieri lorenzo.alfieri@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-3616-386X
Peter Salamon peter.salamon@ec.europa.eu
Alessandra Bianchi alessandra.bianchi@ext.ec.europa.eu
Luc Feyen luc.feyen@ec.europa.eu
Valerio Lorini valerio.lorini@ext.ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Dottori, Francesco; Alfieri, Lorenzo; Salamon, Peter; Bianchi, Alessandra; Feyen, Luc; Lorini, Valerio (2016):  Flood hazard map for Europe, 20-year return period. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-floods-floodmapeu_rp20y-tif
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

Publications

  • publication Advances in pan-European flood hazard mapping

    Alfieri L, Salamon P, Bianchi A, Neal J, Bates P, Feyen L. Advances in pan-European flood hazard mapping. HYDROLOGICAL PROCESSES ; 2013. JRC86298

    DOI:10.1002/hyp.9947

  • publication Ensemble flood risk assessment in Europe under high end climate scenarios

    Alfieri L, Feyen L, Dottori F, Bianchi A. Ensemble flood risk assessment in Europe under high end climate scenarios. GLOBAL ENVIRONMENTAL CHANGE-HUMAN AND POLICY DIMENSIONS 35; 2015. p. 199-212. JRC95475

    DOI:10.1016/j.gloenvcha.2015.09.004

Additional information
Last modified 2016-11-02
Issue date 2016-11-02
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/en/research-topic/floods
Geographic area Europe
Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Environment; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 52 ENVIRONMENT
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-floods-floodmapeu_rp20y-tif

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.