Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: jrc-ghsl-data@ec.europa.eu

Title: GHS built-up grid, derived from Landsat, multitemporal (1975, 1990, 2000, 2014)

Description

The Global Human Settlement Layer (GHSL) project is supported by European Commission, Joint Research Center and Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy. The GHSL produces new global spatial information, evidence-based analytics, and knowledge describing the human presence in the planet. The GHSL relies on the design and implementation of new spatial data mining technologies allowing to process automatically and extract analytics and knowledge from large amount of heterogeneous data including: global, fine-scale satellite image data streams, census data, and crowd sources or volunteering geographic information sources.

Spatial data reporting objectively and systematically about the presence of population and built-up infrastructures are necessary for any evidence-based modelling or assessing of i) human and physical exposure to threats as environmental contamination and degradation, natural disasters and conflicts, ii) impact of human activities on ecosystems, and iii) ...

Contributors
Martino Pesaresi martino.pesaresi@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-0620-439X
Daniele Ehrlich daniele.ehrlich@ec.europa.eu
Aneta Florczyk aneta.florczyk@ec.europa.eu 0000-0001-8912-1500
Sergio Freire sergio.freire@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-2282-701X
Andreea Julea andreea.julea@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-1328-6840
Thomas Kemper thomas.kemper@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-3446-8301
Pierre Soille pierre.soille@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-8479-9205
Vasileios Syrris vasileios.syrris@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-2262-0580
How to cite
Pesaresi, Martino; Ehrlich, Daniele; Florczyk, Aneta; Freire, Sergio; Julea, Andreea; Kemper, Thomas; Soille, Pierre; Syrris, Vasileios (2015):  GHS built-up grid, derived from Landsat, multitemporal (1975, 1990, 2000, 2014). European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-ghsl-ghs_built_ldsmt_globe_r2015b
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

  • GHS_BUILT_LDSMT_GLOBE_R2015B TIFF

    The data are organised in several datasets. The main product (GHS_BUILT_ LDSMT_GLOBE_R2015B) is a multitemporal built-up grid (built-up classes: 1975, 1990, 2000, 2014 epoch), which has been produced at high resolution (approx. 38m). This dataset has been used to derive additional layers per each epoch. All datasets are offered at high, middle and low resolution (approx. 38m in Spherical...

Publications

  • publication Operating procedure for the production of the Global Human Settlement Layer from Landsat data of the epochs 1975, 1990, 2000, and 2014

    Pesaresi M, Ehrlich D, Ferri S, Florczyk A, Carneiro Freire S, Halkia S, Julea A, Kemper T, Soille P, Syrris V. Operating procedure for the production of the Global Human Settlement Layer from Landsat data of the epochs 1975, 1990, 2000, and 2014. EUR 27741. Luxembourg (Luxembourg): Publications Office of the European Union; 2016. JRC97705

    DOI:10.2788/253582

Additional information
Last modified 2015-01-12
Issue date 2015-01-12
Landing page https://ghsl.jrc.ec.europa.eu/
Geographic area World
Temporal coverage

From: 1975-01-01 – To: 2014-12-30

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Regions and cities; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 72 GEOGRAPHY
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-ghsl-ghs_built_ldsmt_globe_r2015b

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.