Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: clemens.wittwehr@ec.europa.eu

Title: Inventory of the 3Rs knowledge sources

Description

In the context of the European Commission's Communication published in response to the European Citizens' Initiative "Stop Vivisection", Action 1 aimed to conduct an assessment of current technologies, information sources and networks from all relevant sectors with potential impact on the advancement of the refinement, reduction and replacement of animals used for scientific purposes (the "Three Rs"). The main objective of this study is to map knowledge sources relevant to the Three Rs, to examine how knowledge is being shared, and to identify possible gaps and opportunities to enhance knowledge sharing. An inventory of knowledge sources (KS) potentially relevant to the Three Rs used in the area of life sciences has been compiled which should be viewed as a snapshot of the current status of knowledge sources available (the supply), and as a starting point for further analysis of knowledge sharing strategies.

Contributors
Tracey Holley tracey.holley@ec.europa.eu
Gerard Bowe gerard.bowe@ec.europa.eu
Ivana Campia ivana.campia@ec.europa.eu
Susanne Belz susanne.belz@ec.europa.eu
Elisabet Berggren elisabet.berggren@ec.europa.eu
Annett Janusch Roi annett.janusch-roi@ec.europa.eu
Clemens Wittwehr clemens.wittwehr@ec.europa.eu 0000-0003-2760-7702
Maurice Whelan maurice.whelan@ec.europa.eu
How to cite
Holley, Tracey; Bowe, Gerard; Campia, Ivana; Belz, Susanne; Berggren, Elisabet; Janusch Roi, Annett; Wittwehr, Clemens; Whelan, Maurice (2017):  Inventory of the 3Rs knowledge sources. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-eurl-ecvam-eurl-ecvam-3rs
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

Publications

  • publication Accelerating progress in the Replacement, Reduction and Refinement of animal testing through better knowledge sharing

    Holley T; Bowe G; Campia I; Belz S; Berggren E; Janusch Roi A; Wittwehr C; Whelan M. Accelerating progress in the Replacement, Reduction and Refinement of animal testing through better knowledge sharing. EUR 28234 EN. Luxembourg (Luxembourg): Publications Office of the European Union; 2016. JRC103906

    DOI:10.2788/934083

Other resources

  • Reducing animal testing through better knowledge sharing HTML

    The JRC has carried out a study of available knowledge on the replacement, reduction and refinement (the 3Rs) of animal procedures used in research and testing to understand how supply of such knowledge can better meet demand. Findings show that although much 3Rs knowledge exists, its sharing can be improved through better coordination, communication and outreach, and by more emphasis on...

Additional information
Last modified 2017-11-08
Issue date 2017-11-08
Landing page https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/en/research-topic/alternatives-animal-testing-and-safety-assessment-chemicals
Geographic area European Union
Temporal coverage

From: 2017-01-01 – To: 2017-12-31

Update frequency irregular
Language English
Data theme(s) Economy and finance; Science and technology
EuroVoc domain(s) 36 SCIENCE; 64 PRODUCTION, TECHNOLOGY AND RESEARCH
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/jrc-eurl-ecvam-eurl-ecvam-3rs

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.