Organisation: European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Point of contact: hasegawa.tomoko@nies.go.jp

Title: AgMIP - Food insecurity and global climate change mitigation policy

Description

Dataset produced in a study (2018) that presents a multiple model assessment on the combined effects of climate change and climate mitigation efforts on agricultural commodity prices, dietary energy availability, and the population at risk of hunger. A robust finding is that by 2050, stringent climate mitigation policy, if implemented evenly across all sectors and regions, could have a greater negative impact on global hunger and food consumption than the direct impacts of climate change. The negative impacts would be most prevalent in vulnerable low-income regions such as Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia, where food security problems are already acute.

Contributors
Tomoko Hasegawa hasegawa.tomoko@nies.go.jp 0000-0003-2456-5789
Shinichiro Fujimori sfujimori@athehost.env.kyoto-u.ac.jp 0000-0001-7897-1796
Petr Havlik havlikpt@iiasa.ac.at 0000-0001-5551-5085
Hugo Valin valin@iiasa.ac.at 0000-0002-0618-773X
Benjamin Bodirsky bodirsky@pik-potsdam.de 0000-0002-8242-6712
Jonathan Doelman jonathan.doelman@pbl.nl 0000-0002-6842-573X
Thomas Fellmann thomas.fellmann@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-4798-329X
Page Kyle pkyle@pnnl.gov 0000-0002-1257-8358
Jason F.L. Koopman jason.levin-koopman@wur.nl 0000-0002-2963-0650
Hermann Lotze-Campen lotze-campen@pik-potsdam.de 0000-0002-0003-5508
Daniel Mason-D'Croz daniel.mason-d'croz@csiro.au 0000-0003-0673-2301
Yuki Ochi ochi.ekonzal@gmail.com 0000-0002-8683-7471
Ignacio Perez Dominguez ignacio.perez-dominguez@ec.europa.eu 0000-0002-0279-6263
Elke Stehfest elke.stehfest@pbl.nl 0000-0003-3016-2679
Timothy Sulser t.sulser@cgiar.org 0000-0001-7128-5283
Andrzej Tabeau andrzej.tabeau@wur.nl 0000-0002-4808-1220
Kiyoshi Takahashi ktakaha@nies.go.jp 0000-0002-0163-545X
Jun'ya Takakura takakura.junya@nies.go.jp 0000-0002-6184-8422
Hans van Meijl
Willem-Jan van Zeist willemjan.vanzeist@pbl.nl 0000-0002-6371-8509
Keith Wiebe k.wiebe@cgiar.org 0000-0001-6035-620X
Peter Witzke heinzpeter.witzke@ilr.uni-bonn.de 0000-0001-6237-8031
How to cite
Hasegawa, Tomoko; Fujimori, Shinichiro; Havlik, Petr; Valin, Hugo; Bodirsky, Benjamin; Doelman, Jonathan; Fellmann, Thomas; Kyle, Page; Koopman, Jason F.L.; Lotze-Campen, Hermann; Mason-D'Croz, Daniel; Ochi, Yuki; Perez Dominguez, Ignacio; Stehfest, Elke; Sulser, Timothy; Tabeau, Andrzej; Takahashi, Kiyoshi; Takakura, Jun'ya; van Meijl, Hans; van Zeist, Willem-Jan; Wiebe, Keith; Witzke, Peter (2018):  AgMIP - Food insecurity and global climate change mitigation policy. European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Dataset] PID: http://data.europa.eu/89h/b6722b2e-483b-4f2e-ab45-4eb518939134
Keywords
Related resources

Data access

Publications

  • publication Risk of increased food insecurity under stringent global climate change mitigation policy

    Hasegawa, T., Fujimori, S., Havlik, P., Valin, H., Bodirsky, B., Doelman, J., Fellmann, T., Kyle, P., Koopman, J., Lotze-Campen, H., Mason-D`croz, D., Ochi, Y., Perez Dominguez, I., Stehfest, E., Sulser, T., Tabeau, A., Takahashi, K., Takakura, J., Van Meijl, H., Van Zeist, W., Wiebe, K. and Witzke, H., Risk of increased food insecurity under stringent global climate change mitigation policy, NATURE CLIMATE CHANGE, ISSN 1758-678X, 8, 2018, p. 699-703, JRC110841.

    DOI:10.1038/s41558-018-0230-x

Additional information
Last modified 2018-06-15
Issue date 2018-07-30
Landing page https://datam.jrc.ec.europa.eu
Geographic area Antarctica, Africa, Asia, America, Oceania, Europe
Temporal coverage

From: 1990-01-01 – To: 2050-12-31

Update frequency unknown
Language English
Data theme(s) Agriculture, fisheries, forestry and food; Environment
EuroVoc domain(s) 52 ENVIRONMENT; 60 AGRI-FOODSTUFFS
Identifier http://data.europa.eu/89h/b6722b2e-483b-4f2e-ab45-4eb518939134

Please be aware that the information and links provided in the metadata above are maintained in distributed and heterogeneous information systems. Although we strive to maintain and keep links and information updated, this may not always be possible because of changes that are not registered and updated in the relevant information systems. Please, help us to maintain the system updated by indicating broken links or any other outdated information by contacting the relevant contact point. You can also inform us using the "Contact" link of this page.